Dirty Beasts

Sections: Information | Description | Listen Online


  • Musical work commissioned by Roald Dahl Foundation in 2013
  • Composed by British composer Benjamin Wallfisch
  • Libretto by Donald Sturrock
  • Includes:
    • “The Porcupine”
    • “The Pig”
    • “The Anteater”
    • “The Toad and the Snail”
  • Performances:
    • World premiere at Royal Festival Hall, London, 2013
      • Conducted by Benjamin Wallfisch
      • Performed by London Philharmonic Orchestra

For more information, see Music Link International. To hire, contact Edition Peters.


Dirty Beasts is the newest of the Roald Dahl Orchestral Commissions and was first performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra in 2013. Described as a “A major new name on the new music horizon” by Humphrey Burton (BBC Radio 3), Benjamin Wallfisch was the ideal choice to set these wonderfully whacky poems.

Listen Online