Puffin Annual Number One

Sections: Information | Covers


Information on identifying editions is from Richard Walker’s “Roald Dahl – A Guide to Collecting His First Editions”.

  • First edition:
    • Puffin Books, 1974, USA and UK.
      • To identify: Used a standard single statement and was published without a dust jacket and priced at £1.20 and $3.65.
  • Edited by: Treld Bicknell, Frank Waters, Kaye Webb
  • Also contains:
    • “The Faithless Lollybird” by Joan Aiken
    • “Ten Characters in Search of a Story” by Edward Ardizzone
    • “Impossible Pets” by Peter Dickinson
    • “Collecting Castles” by Sheila Sancha
    • “La Corona and the Tin Frog” by Russell Hoban
    • “How Birds Fly” by Charles Gibbs-Smith
    • “The Tin Horseman” by Russell Hoban
    • “England is a Palimpsest” by Jill Paton Walsh
    • “Walter and his Magic” by Mel Calman
    • “The Boy, the Dog and the Spaceship” by Nicholas Fisk
    • “Professor Branestawm Goes Cuckoo” by Norman Hunter
    • “Louise Loppa, a Story in Pictures” by Gunvor Edwards
    • “Captain Pugwash Rides the Waves” by John Ryan
    • “Here be Dragons…” by Bruce Carter
    • “How to Make a Puffin Kite” by Conrad Bailey
    • “The Cat” by Tove Jansson
    • “The Strange Affair of the Wattle-U-Eat” by Brenda Johnson
    • “That Awful Boy” by Geoffrey Trease
    • “The Night Watchman and the Crocodile” by Russell Hoban
    • “C.S. Lewis” by Roger Lancelyn Green
    • “The Clock” by Russell Hoban
    • “The Ship in the Bottle” by Barbara Sleigh
    • “My Mother’s Frilly Parasol” by Cynthia Harnet
  • Buy this book: