Movie Information

Sections: General Details | Cast | Crew

General Details

  • Runtime: 99 minutes
  • Sound Mix: Dolby
  • Aspect Ratio:
    • 1.33 : 1
  • Produced by: Children’s Film and Television Foundation (CFTVF), Portobello Pictures, Thames Television, Walt Disney Television, and WonderWorks


Credits order:

  • Jeremy Irons as William
  • Robbie Coltrane as Victor Hazell
  • Samuel Irons as Danny
  • Cyril Cusack as Doc Spencer
  • Michael Hordern as Lord Claybury
  • Lionel Jeffries as Mr. Snoddy
  • Jean Marsh as Miss Hunter
  • Jimmy Nail as Rabbetts
  • Ronald Pickup as Captain Lancaster
  • John Woodvine as Tallon
  • William Armstrong as Springer
  • Ceri Jackson as Mrs. Clipstone
  • James Walker as Vicar
  • Phil Nice as Postman
  • Anthony Collin as Wheeler
  • Jonathan Adams as Samways
  • Jonathan Leigh as Sidney
  • Richard Cubison as Inspector
  • John Grillo as Mr. Parker
  • Andrew MacLachlan as The Duke


  • Director: Gavin Millar
  • Writers: Roald Dahl (novel), John Goldsmith (screenplay)
  • Music by: Stanley Myers
  • Cinematography by: Oliver Stapleton
  • Film Editing by: Angus Newton and Peter Tanner
  • Production Design by: Don Homfray
  • Produced by: Eric Abraham (producer), David Bell (executive producer: Wonderworks), Paulo De Oliveira (executive producer: The Disney Channel), Robin Douet (co-producer), Alan Horrox (executive producer: Thames TV), Simon Relph (executive producer: British Screen), Carol Rubin (executive producer: The Disney Channel), Monica Sims (executive producer: CFTVF)

For more detailed information, visit the Internet Movie Database.